Picture
  • What are your impressions of Maycomb. What connections can you make to your own town?
  • Explore the social issues you become aware of in the first three chapters.
  • Make some predictions about how Boo Radley will become involved in the story.
  • From what you have learned so far, how might you describe Boo?
  • Discuss the concept of being an outsider. What does it mean to be an outsider? Why are some people outsiders?

Christeena Linton
2/10/2013 10:44:54 pm

-Maycomb is similar to my town Pittsville. Not a lot goes on and everyone seems to know someone one way or another.
-I'm sure that Boo Radley has heard the rumors and stories that have been said about him throughout the years. He just doesn't know how to confront them. I think that eventually he will start showing up more and more throughout the story.
-Boo to me is a person with a troubled past. He's been hurt so many times that he just has become a little crazy from everything. Nobody to tell his problems too either doesn't help as well.
-People become outsiders because they have different views from everyone else. They feel like they don't fit in. So, they try to. Some people are forced to be a outsider because of lies that have been said. People will assume it's true and then that person's reputation is ruined because of that one lie. They feel that they will never be excepted.

Reply
Emily Todd
2/14/2013 04:53:05 am

That is an interesting perspective of Boo Radley! Maybe you are right: the children, who are just curious, are drawing Boo out of the house. Boo could be very sensitive and emotional. What a great thought!

Reply
Ms. Moore
2/11/2013 01:18:23 am

Thank Christeena! You are our first TKAM blogger!

Your second bullet has me thinking: Boo must be privy to the rumors and stories that have been circulating about him. I wonder how long those stories have been going around about Boo. It makes me wonder how much Boo is affected by the things people say about him and if he feels that he will never be accepted back into the community... no wonder he hasn't left the house in years.

Thanks for making me think Christeena! :)

Reply
Emily Todd
2/14/2013 04:49:32 am

An outsider is someone who does not belong in a group. The person can be an outsider of their own accord, or society can deem the person as an outsider.
Introverted people typically isolate themselves from large crowds. Although they may just be shy, others see their actions as purposeful. Others tend to think they don't want to be included. I think Miss Maudie falls under this category. Extroverted people usually go out of their way to make themselves part of a group, or they are naturally part of a group. Stephanie Crawford is definately extroverted. Most children, like Jem and Scout, are very extroverted, and they insert themselves into everything.
If a person has differences, as in religion, race, gender, etc., society often pushes away that person from certain groups. I think this is one of the most recognized examples of being an outsider because it is not by choice. Bullying and discrimination are condemed. Boo Radley falls under this title.
Being an outsider is not all in all bad. It just depends on the subjects choice. Most people are outsiders of some groups, but they find their niche in other groups.

Reply
Tara Ward
2/14/2013 08:05:59 am

Maycomb is a small and secluded town. Due to its limited interaction with other towns and outside sources the opinions of the town are extremely strong and believed as fact. The children growing up in Maycomb probably take their parents' word as fact because they simply have nothing and no one else to compare it to. The relationships within the town are not good or strong but everyone knows everyone else and the temperaments of a specific family. Maycomb is a very different view of life after slavery, mostly because the book is not centered on slavery, but still has it in there as a sort or side note. Maycomb, in my head, is very ridged, opinionated, and isolated.
I live in Fruitland and if you strip both towns to their very core I find they are very much alike. I feel here on the Eastern Shore we are not exposed to the diversity of the ever changing world. For the longest time Ocean City was just a lot of whites, but in the past one or two years i have started seeing a more diverse group of people. Also our stores reflect our narrow-sightedness. When you go to places like Baltimore and Annapolis they have more Asian stores and Whole Food Marts where there is a startling amount of variety from tea to bread.
Both Fruitland and Maycomb are very isolated from the outside world and have very strong traditions or set ways of living. Both places would be hard pushed to change.

Reply
Emily Todd
2/16/2013 12:21:46 am

I think Salisbury, however, is becoming more exposed. Our industries are growing and businesses are coming in. Honestly, the town is not how it used to be. Unfortunately, there are not places where everyone knows everyone, such as Maycomb. Salisbury is not Smallsbury any more.

Reply
Vanessa Bennish
3/3/2013 11:18:01 pm

I agree Emily! Everyone who lives here says that Salisbury is such a small town, and that there's nothing here to do. When in reality, there are endless things to do, we just take them for granted. Imagine living in Maycomb, where the only thing to do was watch trials in the courtroom.

Mady Eutsler
3/11/2013 05:44:37 am

To me, Maycomb is one of those quaint little towns that everyone wants to be in because everyone knows everyone. But like all towns, there's definitely something brewing underneath the surface, ready to make it's presence known. It reminds me to Salisbury in the way that there are different people and there are different social classes and people have judgements based on the appearance or personalities of others just like the people in Maycomb do.
-To be an outsider in my opinion, is to be someone who goes against the grain and isn't a part of what society may deem "perfect" or "normal" or "acceptable." To be an outsider is to be someone who is just being who they are and because they're not like everyone else, they're shunned and judged and outcasted by the kings and queens of the societal normalcy. Some people are outsiders just because it fits them better. I consider myself an outsider because I'm not like lots of people here. I dress differently and I do weird things with my hair and I like weird books that people don't like but I don't mind. I'm completely fine with how I am and I'd rather be true to myself and be myself than be fake, and lie to myself just to be accepted by others. Some people though, don't have the luxury that I do and are shunned and they're too afraid to do anything or they prefer just being on the outside because then they don't have to deal with people anymore. It all depends on who you are, I guess.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.