Take a look at the different covers of To Kill a Mockingbird below, which one do you think best represents the novel and why? If you were to create your own cover what kind of images, words and colors would you use?(Note: Click the image to enlarge)
Vanessa Bennish
3/3/2013 11:06:49 pm

I think that the third cover on the top is perfect. It symbolizes to me that Boo Radley IS the mockingbird, and to harm him would be a sin, because he only does good. Until seeing this cover, I never made that connection. It makes me speculate whether Boo Radley is the mockingbird that is "killed" in the novel. If I were to create my own cover, I would depict Boo Radley's home, with a mocking bird sitting on the window sill. The cover would be dark and eerie, but a radian light would shine from the window where the mocking bird sits. I would use the colors black, brown, gray, white, and gold. On the cover, the title, author, and one quote would be written. That quote would say, "Mockingbirds don't do one thing but make music for us to enjoy . . ..That's why it's a sin to kill a mockingbird."

Reply
3/4/2013 09:00:28 am

Wow Vanessa, I had never thought of Boo to be the mockingbird, I always thought it was Tom Robinson....interesting prospective and a good arguement could be made for both. Thanks for sharing.

Reply
Kaely Whittington
3/5/2013 04:35:25 am

That's an interesting interpretation. I'm sure the designer of that cover had the same thing in mind when he created it.

Reply
Bobby Noonan
3/10/2013 11:36:24 pm

Wow I never saw boo as being a mockingbird because the book doesn't really introduce him to us. I thought along the same line as Chris in that Tom was the mocking bird because he is doing no harm to anyone yet they are still trying to hurt him. I see where you are coming from when you say that boo could be the mockingbird. Is it possible that they both are the mockingbird in this story?

Reply
Tiffany-Jade Smallwood
3/11/2013 06:54:31 am

I like your perspective, I saw Boo as a mockingbird as well. Very nice description of your thoughts, Vanessa. Thanks.

Reply
Abigail Thomas
3/12/2013 10:48:44 am

Woah. I've never seen Boo as a mockingbird until you mentioned something! Awesome interpretation.

Sarah Bell Stuchlik
3/17/2013 06:19:00 am

By any chance have you finished the book already? ;)

Reply
karly pizza
3/17/2013 08:20:05 am

i agree! i picked the same book seeing Boo as a mockingbird.

Reply
Maggie Moore
3/17/2013 10:55:40 am

Well put! I always viewed Tom Robinson as the mockingbird but I see where you're coming from.

Reply
Zane Carter
3/17/2013 03:17:22 pm

I never really thought of it that way. Now that I do though, I think your right. Boo Radley very well could be the mocking bird.

Reply
Kyle Skilling
3/5/2013 12:47:15 am

I like the cover in the middle of the top row. It has some good parts. It has some major parts of the story like the gifts in the tree. A person walking by this cover of the book on a stand may stop and wonder what the gifts in the tree are. They would then pick up the book and read it and get to the chapter where the gifts are revealed as presents from Boo and understand what the cover means. And by then they would be deep into the book and have to finish. This cover lead that person to finish the book so that is why it is the best cover.

Reply
Kelly Deehan
3/10/2013 11:05:47 am

I agree about not wanting the cover to give things away. I often try not to study the cover too much before I read the book so I don't get spoiled. I like to study when I am done so I can fully appreciate it and see any hidden details.

Reply
Haley Wolfersberger
3/9/2013 09:02:47 am

I think the best cover was the last one in the top row. It is all black and white and has a child, most likely Scout, swinging on a tire swing. To me this represents the innocence of childhood and that it is all black and white. Things either are or they aren't and there are no in between things like there are when you grow up and understand the world better. I believe the mockingbird is Scout and her childhood. If i were to make my own cover i would use black and white also as well as Scout. I would also use Jem and Dill and have them all playing a game to show that they are just children enjoying their youth.

Reply
Nicole Schlegel
3/12/2013 12:16:21 am

I completely agree that this was the best cover. I thought the colors matched perfectly with the mood of the book and matched the theme of innocence within the children and shows how they will grow up.

Reply
Brady Shreeves
3/16/2013 11:38:54 am

Great choice Haley. I believe that cover shows the carelessness of being a child, blocking out the cruel world.

Reply
Keniya Walker
3/16/2013 11:41:09 am

I also agree with this cover choice. It shows a contrast between black and white. I think it shows the little girl most likely Scout in black showing no matter the color of a child they still remain innocent. Innocent children should be able to enjoy freedom no matter the color, as shown in this cover.

Reply
Amirah Carolina
3/17/2013 08:21:30 am

I agree because the colors were a good choice for the cover and it explains the mood perfectly.

Reply
Amber Truitt
3/17/2013 10:18:35 am

I couldn't agree more. The black and white cover is simple yet speaks volumes about the novel.

Reply
Ryan Shannahan
3/17/2013 10:41:57 am

I agree. I think it definitely captures the childhood aspect of the novel. I think the cover on the bottom left fits that topic as well.

Reply
Tiffany-Jade Smallwood
3/11/2013 07:11:08 am

I believe the last cover in the second row would be the best for the novel. The black colour of the bird and the orangey-red colour allow me to reconnect with certain parts of the book. The words, "it's a sin to kill a mockingbird" play out through the entire novel, but you don't realise it until later. The orange colour reminds me of death or blood, reconnecting with Tom Robinson's capital punishment. The bird on its back seems to me like a person unable to help themselves, like Boo Radley. Boo is unable to be free of mistreatment by the people of Maycomb, he doesn't speak for himself, he instead stays on seclusion where he can't be harmed. If I were making my own cover, I would use white and red to symbolise the mindset of people in this time. It would have been hard to live in a place where everyone thought the same, which is why I chose a bleak colour like white. White is plain and uniform, there aren't any specks or mixes of colours, it's just one, similar to the opinions of those in Maycomb. The red would represent people who veer away from the social norms such as Boo, Atticus, Scout and Dolphus Raymond.

Reply
Darien Fouts
3/12/2013 09:40:10 am

Tiffany I really enjoyed your explanation for the cover, I really liked how you used Tom and Boo as examples with the colors since they are both main concepts in the novel.

Reply
Abigail Thomas
3/12/2013 08:56:15 am

I think that the third cover of the top row, is the one that best describes the novel because it shows the tree hole where Boo Radley had placed the items for Scout and Jem, and shows a mockingbird flying away. This could symbolize that Boo Radley is a mockingbird in this novel. The other novels don't necessarily symbolize much of the novel considering they only have pictures of mockingbirds on them. But, if i were to create my own cover of this novel, I would have a picture of a courthouse, in black and white, with a mockingbird sitting on top of it. I would have the court house as the cover so that I show the reader where the novel takes place.

Reply
Aahed Abdullah
3/16/2013 11:49:37 pm

I agree with you when you said "it shows the tree hole where Boo Radley had placed the items for Scout and Jem, and shows a mockingbird flying away." I think that highlights important events in the novel, and makes the reader wonder who would place these items there. And I suddenly think of the mockingbird as Boo Radley.

Reply
katie fleming
3/17/2013 04:58:23 am

I agree with you happy and for first time readers it can give them a theme and set a picture in there head of what may happen.

Reply
Marissa Bratten
3/15/2013 06:47:08 am

The cover that best represents the To Kill a Mockingbird novel is the gray and orange one in the right bottom corner. This is because it shows the mockingbird just singing all alone not bothering anyone. Which is explained in the novel by one of the characters, they said that all mockingbirds do is fly around and sing for everyone they never hurt anyone. If i was to create my own cover for this novel i would make the colors mostly dark blue and purple. This is because this novel is kind of sad and these colors are not as bright and happy as others. I would put a picture of a man standing in the middle all alone just like Tom Robinson, this is because he never hurt anyone. But in the end they accused him and he was left all alone in jail away from his family and loved ones.

Reply
Katie Fleming
3/17/2013 04:55:42 am

I like the third on the top row because I think it gives a good image for a first time reader and gives them some type of idea of what might happen they may not know what the whole story or theme is but they could brain storm some ideas on what they think will happen.

Reply
karly pizza
3/17/2013 08:19:26 am

I think the perfect cover would be the third on the top because it portrays one of the most important topics of the book. Boo Radley is one of the most important people in the book because you see him as being scary and not understanding why he is always in the house to understanding his background and knowing that he is a generally nice human being.

Reply
Amirah Carolina
3/17/2013 08:20:23 am

I think the cover with Atticus and Scout is the best one because its show how Atticus was a family man and how he loves Scout. If i would create a cover for To Kill a Mockingbird I would use dark colors to represent the sad times in the novel and a hint of white or yellow to represent the small amount of happiness.

Reply
Ryan Shannahan
3/17/2013 10:25:49 am

I can't decide between the 3rd one on the top and the 1st one on the bottom. I think that the top one shows more about Boo Radley aspect of the novel. The bottom one shows the Aspect of Scout and Jem growing up with their father. Both are major points in the novel. If I saw the cover on the bottom, I think I would know more about the book. At first, I just thought this book was about the Tom Robinson case. The bottom cover would help me see that it's more about growing up. However, the top cover would help the reader organize the facts we know about Boo. I really just can't decide.

Reply
Zane Carter
3/17/2013 03:15:53 pm

I like the cover with Scout swinging in the tree for this novel. It is very simple, much like the time inside the book. It also depicts happiness, which Scout usually can find an abundance of. It is also black and white. I think, because of the time frame it is depicting, it automatically begins to set a mood. I also think that the lack of color takes away from the happiness in the picture. I think this is good though because behind all of Scout's childhood innocence lies a lot of adult problems.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.