"Mockingbirds don’t do one thing except make music for us to enjoy. They don’t eat up people’s gardens, don’t nest in corn cribs, they don’t do one thing but sing their hearts out for us. That’s why it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.”-Ms. Maudie

What does this quote mean to you? Do you have any Mockingbirds in your life?

Emily Todd
2/23/2013 12:58:52 am

To me, this quote epitomizes the idea of innocence. Mrs. Maudie is demonstrating by this quote how mockingbirds are innocent creatures. It is morally wrong to kill an innocence and very defenseless creature. Innocence is not doing any wrongs. So, if a creature doesn't do anything wrong, why should anyone commit an evils against it?
I think there are mockingbirds in everyone's lives. Each person is a mockingbird from the naiveness of their youth. As people grow up, they become hardened by tragedies and the world. Their inner mockingbird is killed. People take advantage of mockingbirds who are harmless, until the mockingbird inside dies.

Reply
Taylor Mooney
2/24/2013 07:15:44 am

I think that this is a perfect way to explain this quote. I think it really shows how at one point everyone had a mockingbird in them. But, throughout life the hardships you shape mold it and eventually in some people who have had the worst things happen to them, it fades away until there is no mockingbird, happiness, left. In some cases I think that people are unhappy with there life, so they try to steal the happiness out of others because it makes them feel better about themselves. I think that this was a very good point of Emily to make and I think it explains the quote perfectly.

Reply
alana stanford
3/2/2013 11:08:15 pm

I didn't really think of it this way , but I agree.

Tara Ward
2/25/2013 08:56:33 am

Wow you really thought about this quote! I barely looked beyond the surface. When I read your analogy it really made me think about the innocence with which we characterize the young. I really loved the part about there is a mocking bird in everyone. It made me think about our world today and what if no ones inner mockingbird had to die. What would a world of innocence be like? Could humans actually manage to do anything/live that way?

Reply
Ms. Moore
2/26/2013 10:26:53 am

You all have done a beautiful job of analyzing and presenting your ideas regarding this quote.

If the Mockingbird is representative of innocent joy, I would like to think that we all continue to carry our personal Mockingbirds inside our hearts always. I may be naive (or hopeful) to say that I believe my "Mockingbird" will sing throughout my live. Sure, maybe it doesn't sing everyday at every moment, but when I am engaged in something I love (like when I am singing in a show, directing a piece of theater, or swimming in the ocean), my Mockingbird is awakened and singing its heart out!

Nicole Schlegel
3/17/2013 07:50:05 am

I completely agree with the way you thought this quote meant. I always thought Tom was one of the mockingbirds in this book because he was being killed even though he was innocent and had never done anything wrong. I think you also explained yourself very well and put alot of thought into it.

Reply
Abigail Thomas
2/23/2013 09:36:09 am

In my view, this quote emphasizes innocence. And innocence is when somebody or something causes no evils, or wrong doings to the world. Mockingbirds only sing, and try to please everybody, they don't mean no harm at all. So, this quote really tells me that, people who hurt innocent people for doing the right thing, is frowned upon. And in this generation now a days, "mockingbirds" are very hard to find. But, thankfully, I know a very select few of them. Mockingbirds can be the type of people who never talk about anybody else behind others' backs, or just those sweet, loving people who wouldn't even hurt a fly.

Reply
Tara Ward
2/24/2013 04:37:04 am

For me, this quote represents children in their essence. Children are born with clean slates. They have never done anything to anyone, neither good nor bad. Children never intend to do anything to hurt anyone. They have yet to obtain a social filter. That comes with growing and learning but when they are still "pure" they just do what comes naturally. For mockingbirds singing is natural, but it varies for children. People feel it is even more of a sin to kill something harmless, young, and/or small. I say and/or because not everything that is small is harmless (poisonous spiders), and not everything or everyone that is young are harmless. But to kill something/one that falls into any of these categories is evil because they have not done anything to intentionally harm another.

Reply
Kelly Deehan
3/11/2013 11:20:03 am

I agree with you Tara about children being mockingbirds. It makes me think of the tragic school shootings we have and how awful it is to take the lives of children who are so innocent and don't cause these shooters any harm. It is the fact that these children and mockingbirds do nothing to deserved to be bothered or killed.

Reply
Abigail Thomas
3/12/2013 11:23:16 am

I agree, children are very innocent. It's sad they lose their innocence once they grow older.

Reply
Taylor Mooney
2/24/2013 07:10:47 am

To me this quote shows happiness. Singing is how some people express their happiness. Ms. Maudie is showing how mockingbirds do not do anything wrong. They do not sin, they are "pure." All they do is make music for people to enjoy. When you kill them it is a sin because you are killing happiness. I think that in life this happens a lot and it is showing how happiness is killed in people. When people bully other people or do things wrong to them it is killing there happiness. This is a sin, those people did nothing wrong to you and it is like killing a mockingbird who has done nothing but make happiness. So I think that Ms. Maudie was trying to teach a lesson, that doing wrong to other people who have done no wrong to you kills happiness inside them and yourself.

Reply
Keniya Walker
3/16/2013 11:55:54 am

I really enjoyed your explanation of this quote. It actually made me think differently and agree with you a little. Today a lot happiness is killed in individuals everyday. People should be more considerate and let people enjoy there happiness instead of killing it. Everyone needs to keep "mockingbirds" in their life.

Reply
Darien Fouts
2/27/2013 06:14:10 am

This quote to me means that you shouldn't harm anything that hasn't done anything bad to you or has done nothing but good things. I think Miss Maudie is just trying to explain the just of it. I believe everyone that I really don't know is a mockingbird if they haven't done anything to affect my life and I shouldn't do anything to hurt or harm them.

Reply
Bobby Noonan
2/28/2013 09:53:16 pm

This quote to me means that if someone is not affecting you in a negative way than why try to harm it. It's the same way with people nowadays. Some people walk through life thinking that everyone is against them. They go around looking for a fight. This is not what you should do.

Reply
Tara Ward
3/1/2013 11:22:14 pm

I really agree with Ms. Moore! I was unhappy that everyone seems to think that our mockingbirds die when we grow up whether we want them to or not. Ms. Moore's outlook on this is so much better and definitely true (at least for me). My mockingbird loves to sing when i am creating stories, and poems in my head. Reading and watching movies considerably expands by imagination by showing me things i never would have thought on my own before. My mockingbird will definitely always soar if i kept finding the words to create new worlds.

Reply
alana stanford
3/2/2013 11:23:17 pm

starting with the second part of the question , Yes I do have a mockingbird and that is my mother. all my life my mother has made a good life for me to enjoy (music.) she doesn't criticize me , put me down .. but she makes a living for me. (They don’t eat up people’s gardens, don’t nest in corn cribs). She doesn't do anything but help & you should never bite the hand that feeds you. (they don’t do one thing but sing their hearts out for us. That’s why it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.)

Reply
Cara Kirn
3/4/2013 11:18:46 pm

Yes that was what I was thinking. The mocking bird in my life are my parents too, The quote just sums up what our parents do and how they are just supposed to be loved.

Reply
Cara Kirn
3/4/2013 11:16:30 pm

To me this quote feels like its talking about people who are jsut plain nice and sweet. People who dont do anything bad in life and just help people out. Thinking about this quote I seem like the mocking bird in my life are my parents. They dont mean any harm for us except to help us out and care for us. I also feel like its about the people who make a change in the world. The most important people who do good and never hurt anyone in the process. Who wouldnt dare think about hurting anyone and dont deserve to die.

Reply
3/4/2013 11:26:07 pm

I think this quote is just one big metaphor. Miss Maudie is trying to compare mockingbirds to true friends. True friends(and mockingbirds) don't sabotage your life(ie, eating up your garden). People who are truly your friend respect you and your lifestyle, even if the don't agree with it. Same for mockingbirds. They just want to help make life a little more enjoyable, like friends. I definitely have some mockingbirds in my life and I'm glad I can say that!

Reply
Andrew Hoeck (Bob)
3/5/2013 12:38:36 am

Mockingbirds are seen as saints, an object that only creates positive influences in life. They are like children in a way, seen as only good in the world. I don't really have any mockingbirds in my life, as I've learned that no matter good a person is they will have their flaws, but it is being the best person that you can be is what is worth striving for.

Reply
jorge brito
3/19/2013 11:28:58 am

bob, this is great really captures whata mocking bird really is.

Reply
Keniya Walker
3/10/2013 12:36:45 pm

The statement Mrs. Maudie makes to me means the mockingbird is one creature she really connects with and enjoys being around. Since she loves her garden and enjoys having this such an optimistic aspect around her . This bird doesn't bother her garden nor add more work for her to do buy destroying it . Since the bird does nothing to neglect her peace and happiness she view it as a harmless creature. The mockingbird places pleasure in heart and never disappoints her. I have a few things that i could refer as "mockingbirds" in my life. I think everyone has a "mockingbird" in their life. That one thing that you can depend on to bring joy in your life and never seems to disappoint you. So, why would you want someone to kill or take this away from you? Which is the the point I think Ms. Maudie is trying to make.

Reply
Lashauntae finney
3/16/2013 08:42:16 am

That's a great point Keniya!

Reply
Allison Franklin
3/11/2013 08:22:05 am

I think this quote means that when something or someone isn't doing anything that could cause harm or heartache they should be left alone. One who is not doing anything wrong should not get punished. To me this quote relates to todays society so well. I mean you see people getting bullied because they look different, or because they are not as outgoing as someone else, or they like to do different things than the "popular" people. Innocent people are getting ridiculed but are they doing anything wrong? No. Are they ever given a chance? No. What gives someone the right to judge and hurt others because they are different? The mockingbirds are the kids that are considered "weird" and everyone knows that judging them is wrong but they do anyway because they want their fun.The mockingbirds are not hurting anyone or anything and they shouldn't get punished for being themselves, to me this is what this quote is advocating. I know and am friends with many "mockingbirds".They keep my life fun and interesting. It's a shame to see society killing them off.

Reply
Abigail Thomas
3/12/2013 10:39:07 am

This quote speaks the idea of innocence. Mrs. Maudie is demonstrating by this quote how mockingbirds are harmless creatures. And how it's wrong to kill an innocent defenseless creature. Innocence is when a person, or thing causes no harm to the world, and only does good. And the phrase "To Kill A Mockingbird" is for who kills a mockingbird, has committed a sin. There are definitely a select few of mockingbirds in my life because the older people get, they begin to show their true colors. And to be a mockingbird, you are very rare to find in today's society.

Reply
Mikea Adams
3/15/2013 02:46:44 am

In my opinion this quote means that if someone or something is not causing harm to anything or anyone, then why bother it. In life people get the idea that they have to have an opinion about any and everything and that to me is not acceptable. Harming something that is not causing any mishaps or harm to others is not right.
The Mockingbird in my life is my grandmother. She is the sweetest old lady around even though she looks young. My grandmother would do anything in her best interest to help someone in need if she could do anything to help.

Reply
Katelyn Briddell
3/15/2013 03:37:37 am

This quote I believe means that Mocking birds do nothing to you. They don't eat your feilds they don't make nests and they will not bother you. The only thing they can do is sing to you. This is when someone just sings and they do nothing to you they just sit there and out of no where you kill them. There was no reason you killed them other than for the pleaser of it. This quote means to me that you should not kill something or someone just because you can. It's a sin against God to kill someone. No one should take the place of God. You should no be able to kill someone or something just because you can. Leave that job to God it's not a humans right to be able to take that kind of responsiblity.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.